The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Model A (1928-31) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Water Pump Packing ? (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=170782)

TommyCoupe 06-09-2015 05:22 PM

Water Pump Packing ?

I have been restoring my A for about 2 years now. It's a project that I started about 25 years ago, then started again about 2 years ago.
I started on the body first this time because 25 years ago, I stripped the car down the frame, and put a new rebuilt engine in it. The engine ran at idle a few times but that's where I stopped.
Now that the body's painted I needed to freshen up the paint on the engine and frame. I decided I would strip the engine down, and pull the head, the valve cover and oil pan. That way I could inspect and give a shot of mystery oil before hand cranking it.
After opening it up, I was amazed how good it looked. Very little rust inside the valve cover and everything else looked clean. The antifreeze that was left in the engine was a little sludgy, but not bad.
There is one thing i am concerned about though.
When I pulled the water pump, there was what I will describe as a glob of fabric type stuff wrapped up in the impeller and some pushed into the cooling passage of the head.
I'm guessing that it's waterpump packing, but it seems like a big glob. I'd say that it was a soggy handful.

Does this sound normal ?:confused:

Tommy-

Bob C 06-09-2015 05:32 PM

Re: Water Pump Packing ?

I don't see how packing could get into the impeller unless it fell
in before the upper radiator hose was put on.

Bob

J Franklin 06-09-2015 05:39 PM

Mouse nest!

RUNNERBUN 06-09-2015 05:41 PM

Doesn't sound like water pump packing to me if its a handful. Maybe what is left of a rag that was placed in the water outlet to protect against any foreign matter getting into the water passages of he head.

Tom Wesenberg 06-09-2015 07:45 PM