The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Model A (1928-31) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Noise in my new 29 a engin (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=233767)

pinball73 11-21-2017 07:32 PM

Noise in my new 29 a engin

1 Attachment(s)
ok guys I am new at this, but hear we go! I have done a complete rebuild of my 1929 ford model a engine! it runs great sounds real good until I get it warmed up & on the highway in third gear at what I am going to call a cruse, 35 mph or so. not giving it any gas & not letting off of it either! I get a noise I don't like & don't think is normal! at this point I can retard the spark lever & it almost goes away! can't think it is spark knock ! it sounds too much like something mechanical! tried removing the plug wires one at a time & it makes no difference in the sound of the engine, so don't think it is rod,main, or piston! it has been bored 100 over new pistons, rings & valves have been re done. Babbitt is good & crank has been replaced. oil pressure is good, I would like more, but that is what they say it should have, thought pistons might be touching the head, so I scoped the cylinders & find no evidence of this happening! this thing has me barking at the moon! has any body got any ideas? I need help

1crosscut 11-21-2017 08:03 PM

Re: Noise in my ney 29 a engin

Can you only hear the noise while in 3rd gear and going down the road after warm up or does it continue to make the noise while stopped after it is warmed up?
If the noise persists while stopped have you tried listening to the motor with a mechanics stethoscope to narrow the location down?

Kurt in NJ 11-21-2017 08:15 PM

How new is the engine, is it stock, or modified, retarding the spark is a way to quiet a loose bearing, did it always have the noise, or is it new and getting louder
louder cold or after hot?

1930-Pickup 11-21-2017 08:31 PM

Now you've done it! :) Welcome to the Barn!