The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Early V8 (1932-53) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   About to start a flathead V8 (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=247749)

vintrex 07-14-2018 12:09 AM

About to start a flathead V8

I'm about to start a flathead V8 in a 1947. It is my first time starting a flathead as I am used to working on 60's motors. It appears to be the first time this motor has been started in a while. I have to re-assemble the distributor but any suggestions please let me know....

Tinker 07-14-2018 01:09 AM

Re: About to start a flathead V8

Fresh oil. drop pan and open intake. Clean it out.

Mart 07-14-2018 02:34 AM

No different than any other engine. Check it has oil and water. Spin it over with plugs out to check it has oil pressure. Check for spark. Put plugs in. A shot of fuel down the carb and go for it.

Edit: maybe you should tell us when it was last run, it might make a difference to the advice offered (After reading post above).

Mart.

chap52 07-14-2018 07:16 AM

With the plugs out can you turn it over by hand using a socket and breaker bar on the front pulley nut? Did you drain the old oil? Was there water in it or anything else that didn't belong there? Those cylinders no doubt are dry and maybe a bit rusted. I would take a oil squirt can and with the plugs out squirt a little oil in each plug hole. Squirt it up on the valves and down into the cylinders also.
If your purpose for starting it is just to say "it started" and you plan on taking it out and going through the whole engine that would have a bearing on how you proceed. If your ready to fire it up and drive it as is if possible I would take all the preparatory precautions to be sure those old rings have a little lubrication between them and the cylinder walls.