The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Model A (1928-31) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Starter switch - fascinating!! (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=241951)

cederholm 04-04-2018 09:07 AM

Starter switch - fascinating!!

Hi all,

As mentioned in another post, I'm new to A ownership, in my case a 1930 Coupe. Not only is this my first A, it's also the first pre-war car that I've had the opportunity to crawl around - well without museum security getting involved. :rolleyes:

When buying the car I assumed the floor starter button was an electrical switch on the floor. Now I see its a rod and the high-amp switch is on the starter itself. Whoa! ...yeah I'm easily amused.

Why is it like that? Had the relay not been invented yet? Was this more reliable at the time? Was this just a Ford thing? ...and when was the electric starter introduced in the first place?

Sorry for all the questions, but I'm curious.

Best,
Carl

chap52 04-04-2018 09:16 AM

Re: Starter switch - fascinating!!

Enjoy your new adventure. Gather the right books, manuals and watch lot's of You Tube Videos on the subject. Just type in "Model A" in the You Tube Search Box and get you a tall glass of iced tea and enjoy.
All questions are good ones. Somebody knows the answer, or will make up a believable one.
Welcome to the Hobby. Chap

Great Lakes Greg 04-04-2018 09:38 AM

General Motors Delco Division invented the self starter around 1912. I believe the engineer behind it was "Doc" Kettering. The catalyst for it was Billy Durant, president of GM, had a friend who broke his arm crank starting a car, and subsequently died of pneumonia. That
part may or may not be true, but it is what I read somewhere.

ryanheacox 04-04-2018 09:40 AM

Just off the top of my head I would think the design is the way it is for simplicity and the simpler a system is the more durable it usually is.