The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Model A (1928-31) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   fit splash shield/r.fender: help ! (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=199732)

hazelhoff 07-04-2016 08:50 AM

fit splash shield/r.fender: help !

1 Attachment(s)
Guys,

Somehow the fit between the splash shield and the rear fender is not OK. Tried Mac's repro fenders: not Ok; tried Original fenders, not OK. Whoever made this problem happen and how to resolve it ?

Henk (from Holland):mad:

k24556 07-04-2016 10:15 AM

Re: fit splash shield/r.fender: help !

I will have my splash shields and fenders back from soday blasting and etch priming. I will be fitting these parts on my 29a coupe in a few weeks, If I can help with a dimension, pm me and I will see if I can help, though I am very new to these old cars, I am doing a complete frame-off restoration, and all my parts are original and straight. The car had never been wrecked, so it will be easy to take good measurements, if they will help you.

Your body color looks nice, what color is it?

Glenn C. 07-04-2016 10:30 AM

None of the sheet metal components will ever fit correctly until you have established that you have a true and square frame, also with no sag in the area of the rear engine mounts. You must measure the frame from corner to corner to determine if the frame is square. The frame condition is your top priority now.

hazelhoff 07-04-2016 10:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by k24556 (Post 1318542)
I will have my splash shields and fenders back from soday blasting and etch priming. I will be fitting these parts on my 29a coupe in a few weeks, If I can help with a dimension, pm me and I will see if I can help, though I am very new to these old cars, I am doing a complete frame-off restoration, and all my parts are original and straight. The car had never been wrecked, so it will be easy to take good measurements, if they will help you.