The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Model A (1928-31) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Steering Column Adjustment (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=242010)

BakesJr 04-05-2018 11:17 AM

Steering Column Adjustment

I'm trying to set the spark timing and when I move the steering column lever, the upper point plate control arm contacts one side of the opening of the distributor but not the other.
How do I rorate the steering column? The bolts that hold the steering box to the frame hold everything rigid. Or do I need to shim the steering box to rotate the column?
I am very new to this stuff, ok maybe no experience, but I'm still having fun.

Thanks in advance!

Curtis in MA 04-05-2018 11:55 AM

Re: Steering Column Adjustment

What year car?

abachman3 04-05-2018 11:57 AM

It depends on which steering box you have. Early boxes, seven tooth, cannot be adjusted in that respect. With two tooth, loosen the clamp bolt just above the gear box and rotate the outer sleeve portion accordingly. Tighten the clamp when finished.

myford7 04-05-2018 12:02 PM

Its my understanding that if the car is a 28-29, there is not adjustment to the steering column. On the 30-31 there is a clamp just above the steering box that you can loosen and then turn the steering column and move the control arm. Anyway that's how my 30 is.

BakesJr 04-05-2018 12:11 PM

Year 1929 with a 7 tooth gearbox. So with that going against me whats my other options? I could make a little coupler with set screws and cut the linkage arm in 2 and adjust it that way but I like to keep things original.

BakesJr 04-05-2018 12:13 PM

1929 7 tooth gearbox

Curtis in MA 04-05-2018 12:18 PM

Turn the whole steering column.

Dave in MN 04-05-2018 12:45 PM