The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Early V8 (1932-53) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   PSI for block testing (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=316327)

V8guy 07-30-2022 11:44 AM

PSI for block testing

What is the recommended PSI for pressure testing for block testing ?
Thanks

glennpm 07-30-2022 12:06 PM

Re: PSI for block testing

My opinion, 10 or 15 psi and then if you use a pressure radiator cap, keep it at 8psi.

Do not test this with only air. You have a very dangerous "bomb" if it fails. Fill with water and then either air or water pressure or the top

flatjack9 07-30-2022 09:01 PM

I fill with water and test at 50 psi.

flatford8 07-31-2022 05:24 AM

I’ve been reading about pressure testing blocks for a few years......this is the first time I’ve seen anything about filling them with water first......Mark

sugarmaker 07-31-2022 06:36 AM

Folks,
Well, for sure I am not a expert to speak on this subject. Only stood by when my B block was air presure tested to 60 PSI at my machine shop. No water in block. That is only one ref point and no supporting data for appropriate testing methods of blocks.
Regards,
Chris

Oldtmtech 07-31-2022 07:24 AM

Being an old tractor guy I can tell you all steam boilers are hydro tested meaning the boiler is filled with water then air pressure the reason being is because water does not compress so if you have a leak the pressure quickly drops because your air vessel is small
If you just filled it with air pressure and you have a leak it is like when you lose a hose off of your air compressor tank and the hose whips around for ever
Your air compressor tank is a certified pressure vessel your engine block is not
Kind of a crude explanation but I hope this helps
Todd

Frank Miller 07-31-2022 07:29 AM

I know a gut who stitches blocks and he tests to 30psi which is twice the pressure any pressurized system sees.