The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Model A (1928-31) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   31 Tudor Starter Quit Working (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=212135)

Rob Rose 01-05-2017 05:40 PM

31 Tudor Starter Quit Working

I am a newbie, I have had my car for 3 months. Today I adjusted the timing and then went to start it and left the cable that plugs into the distributor disconnected and cranked the motor and then the starter just quit working. I have not had an issue with the starter. I plugged the cable into the distributor, and the battery is fully charged, but nothing happens when I press the starter button. My car is a intact original with 22,000 miles on it. Any guidance is appreciated!

John Stone 01-05-2017 05:43 PM

Re: 31 Tudor Starter Quit Working

put your tranny in high and rock the car back and forth. Sounds like a locked starter.

Rob Rose 01-05-2017 05:44 PM

did that, nothing.

John Stone 01-05-2017 05:54 PM

Did the engine turn over OK? If it did, the starter switch may need some attention.

Rob Rose 01-05-2017 05:56 PM

it turned over but didn't start, then the starter quit

John Stone 01-05-2017 06:01 PM

Let me get this straight. If you walked out to the car right now, put it in high and pushed it a little the engine would turn over?

If so, then I would check the switch if all cables are tight and you have a good ground.

Rob Rose 01-05-2017 06:05 PM

Thats right the engine turns over in gear when I push it. I'll check the battery cables tomorrow but the lights are working fine. Don't know how to check the switch, maybe just order one?

John Stone 01-05-2017 06:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob Rose (Post 1409722)
Thats right the engine turns over in gear when I push it. I'll check the battery cables tomorrow but the lights are working fine. Don't know how to check the switch, maybe just order one?