The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Early V8 (1932-53) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   1901 teapot question (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=289716)

53_mercLuke 11-05-2020 08:52 PM

1901 teapot question

I know everyone says to throw them away but I haven't had much issue with mine. My question is, is there a way to kind of hop them up alittle bit? I have looked around and haven't seen much of it. I plan on upgrading down the road but was just curious if anyone has modified them to get alittle more out of them for the time being

Thanks

wga 11-05-2020 09:10 PM

Re: 1901 teapot question

If I understand correctly, you want to make a tempest in a teapot?

53_mercLuke 11-05-2020 09:16 PM

Haha sure.. I think haha? I just want to see if its possible to step them up in performance alittle

tubman 11-05-2020 09:20 PM

I'm not an expert on these by any means, but I would think that anything that would increase performance would have an adverse effect on fuel economy and driveability. Even if you could get a small performance increase, it would be almost imperceptible by "the seat of your pants". The one upgrade that may help is boring out the manifold to match a small base 2G and use one of those.

53_mercLuke 11-05-2020 09:45 PM

Thanks tubman, I was just curious. I was there wouldn't be a big performance upgrade for a teapot but just been thinking about it as of late. I really don't have any issues with mine now so I was debating on changing it if there was anyways. Ill look into the manifold though

rotorwrench 11-06-2020 08:40 AM