The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Model A (1928-31) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Serpentine belts (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=278503)

Dave moly 03-25-2020 06:39 PM

Serpentine belts

Can anyone tell me how fitting a serpentine belt to a model a can give it an extra 10% horsepower as claimed by Snyder’s

eagle 03-25-2020 06:50 PM

Re: Serpentine belts

10% equals 4 HP, I find it a bit hard to believe a serpentine belt would make that much difference. A properly tightened V belt on a Model A will be quite loose compared to V belts on modern equipment. A cog belt is supposed to take about the same HP as a serpentine so might be a better option for a stock A. A serpentine belt has more contact area so will run a heavier load, not a problem with a stock A. I'm not an expert, just my understanding, take it for what its worth, probably less than 2 cents!

Roxo 03-25-2020 06:57 PM

I think it's the fan blade more then the serpentine belt. The two blade fan probably moves more air therefore uses more power then that plastic 6 blade fan.
Just my 1 cents worth.

Ruth 03-25-2020 07:09 PM

Just speculating but with the plastic fan they flatten out at higher speed so it does not take a much HP to turn but I don't see it increasing HP 10%. Also as the fan flattens out it allows for better air flow thru the radiator.

40 Deluxe 03-25-2020 07:39 PM

You will notice that modern cars with serpentine belts run spring loaded idler pulleys to keep constant tension or preload on the belt to prevent slippage. How much belt tension can a Model A water pump take, and for how long?

As far as the claim of 10% more power, without a notarized dyno sheet, it did not happen!

Jack Shaft 03-25-2020 07:57 PM