The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Early V8 (1932-53) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Extra Carb Part (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=191632)

32FordCollector 03-14-2016 12:58 PM

Extra Carb Part

1 Attachment(s)
This is my first attempt at rebuilding a carburetor. I'm rebuilding a 94 2 barrel carb for a 59 AB engine. I thought everything went just fine until I realized that I have an extra spring. Cannot figure out where it should have been installed. It would have been an original spring and the rebuild kit didn't have a replacement. It's possible that the rebuild kit parts don't require it but I just thought I would go ahead and ask to see if anyone recognizes it. I took the picture along side an economizer valve so that it was easy to see how large it is. Thanks in advance for any assistance anyone can provide, I'm literally learning by trial and error.

Attachment 262321

Bruce_MO 03-14-2016 01:14 PM

Re: Extra Carb Part

I will defer to the carb rebuilders who are a lot more familiar than I am, but that spring doesn't look like it belongs in a 94. I just redid two of them yesterday and the only spring I can think of is for the accelerator pump. It's longer and cylindrical in shape.

Terry,OH 03-14-2016 02:50 PM

It may be the spring under the die cast cap on the outside of the carb for the throttle linkage.

flatheadmurre 03-14-2016 03:08 PM

Spring goes under the acc pump piston.

scicala 03-14-2016 03:40 PM

There is no spring that goes under the accel pump piston. I agree with Terry,OH. The only spring similar to that is the one on the end of the throttle shaft for the hand throttle lever (die cast) if you're carb is equipped with that. Later ones had no lever on that side.

Sal

flatheadmurre 03-14-2016 03:44 PM

If its a rebuilders or other option im not sure of but that kind of spring sits under the acc piston in some 94 carbs.