The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Early V8 (1932-53) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Shifting A Columbia In A '40 (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=284304)

philipswanson 07-19-2020 07:14 PM

Shifting A Columbia In A '40
 

I just installed a Columbia but have not driven it yet. I am confused about engaging and disengaging the overdrive. One instruction I read said to lift off the accelerator off the floor and pull the handle. Then push the clutch in to complete the shift.

Is this right? I would have thought that you would push the clutch in first like shifting a transmission gear. Which way is correct? This is a '40 stock installation, not electrical like later Columbias. :confused:

Kube 07-19-2020 07:21 PM

Re: Shifting A Columbia In A '40
 

Push the clutch to the floor, let off on the throttle. Pull the switch OUT to go in to overdrive, let the clutch pedal back out and accelerate.
To go back to regular drive, same operating procedure except you push the switch IN.

philipswanson 07-19-2020 08:25 PM

Re: Shifting A Columbia In A '40
 

Thanks Kube.

That's pretty much what I thought.

Another question, when running the cables for the speedometer gearbox cable and valve cable, it seems counter-productive to use the bracket that the instructions say to install just forward of the firewall to hold the cables down in the bend area. Especially the one that shifts your speedometer gear box because it is about an inch longer after its hooked up. It seems like it makes more sense to just let the cables come forward out of the firewall and let them make a natural gentle bend instead of pulling them down to restrain them in a bracket. What say you?

Kube 07-19-2020 09:58 PM

Re: Shifting A Columbia In A '40
 

Quote:

Originally Posted by philipswanson (Post 1911146)
Thanks Kube.

That's pretty much what I thought.

Another question, when running the cables for the speedometer gearbox cable and valve cable, it seems counter-productive to use the bracket that the instructions say to install just forward of the firewall to hold the cables down in the bend area. Especially the one that shifts your speedometer gear box because it is about an inch longer after its hooked up. It seems like it makes more sense to just let the cables come forward out of the firewall and let them make a natural gentle bend instead of pulling them down to restrain them in a bracket. What say you?

I've installed more of these than I can recall. Each one was done "by the book" with zero issues.

deuce_roadster 07-19-2020 10:54 PM

Re: Shifting A Columbia In A '40
 

Another thing that some people miss is the correct way to fill the Columbia with oil. IF you read the instructions they spell it out. I put the car up on Jackstands LEVEL. Run the car in the gear specified for the time specified then quickly get out and put in the amount of oil specified. The reason for this is that you are filling the inside of the Columbia where the sun gear is and before the oil runs back out to the banjo, you need to top it off. And as specified, USE THE COLUMBIA FILL HOLE, NOT THE ONE IN THE BANJO.
You also don't want to check the oil level in the Columbia without doing this same procedure . I know of more then one rebuilt unit fried due to not following the proper procedure for filling it with oil.

4dFord/SC 07-20-2020 06:28 AM

Re: Shifting A Columbia In A '40
 

A handy, clutch-saving tip if you forget to disengage the Columbia before coming to a stop: put the car in reverse and back up a little to drop it out of high range.

philipswanson 07-20-2020 09:31 AM

Re: Shifting A Columbia In A '40
 

Quote:

Originally Posted by 4dFord/SC (Post 1911220)
A handy, clutch-saving tip if you forget to disengage the Columbia before coming to a stop: put the car in reverse and back up a little to drop it out of high range.

Does it hurt anything to come to a stop and start again in high range?

philipswanson 07-20-2020 10:14 AM

Re: Shifting A Columbia In A '40
 

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kube (Post 1911171)
I've installed more of these than I can recall. Each one was done "by the book" with zero issues.

Kube,

Do you have a picture of one of the 40 installs you did showing the firewall and mounting of the cables coming through the firewall. Something is not right on mine. Thanks!

4dFord/SC 07-20-2020 10:19 AM

Re: Shifting A Columbia In A '40
 

Quote:

Originally Posted by philipswanson (Post 1911290)
Does it hurt anything to come to a stop and start again in high range?


Don't think it hurts anything, but it's harder on the clutch and slows acceleration. I've done it a few times myself when it wasn't possible to back up (e.g., at a stop sign with a car right behind you).

G.M. 07-20-2020 12:29 PM

Re: Shifting A Columbia In A '40
 

I installed the Columbia's in my cars so as soon as you
push the clutch in they drop out of O.D. So going up a
big hill or at stop lights or signs I just push the clutch
and slowly release it. G.M.

Kube 07-20-2020 02:09 PM

Re: Shifting A Columbia In A '40
 

Quote:

Originally Posted by philipswanson (Post 1911290)
Does it hurt anything to come to a stop and start again in high range?

No, other than you may not have enough power to comfortably get rolling again.

Kube 07-20-2020 02:10 PM

Re: Shifting A Columbia In A '40
 

Quote:

Originally Posted by G.M. (Post 1911359)
I installed the Columbia's in my cars so as soon as you
push the clutch in they drop out of O.D. So going up a
big hill or at stop lights or signs I just push the clutch
and slowly release it. G.M.

Then you are using later controls. Authentic 40 controls do not operate like that.

Kube 07-20-2020 02:11 PM

Re: Shifting A Columbia In A '40
 

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by philipswanson (Post 1911303)
Kube,

Do you have a picture of one of the 40 installs you did showing the firewall and mounting of the cables coming through the firewall. Something is not right on mine. Thanks!

This should help.

V8COOPMAN 07-20-2020 02:21 PM

Re: Shifting A Columbia In A '40
 

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kube (Post 1911395)
No, other than you may not have enough power to comfortably get rolling again.


Wouldn't take much to solve that little problem! DD


http://static.speedwaymotors.com/RS/.../7200392_L.jpg

philipswanson 07-20-2020 09:53 PM

Re: Shifting A Columbia In A '40
 

Kube,

Thanks for the picture. Apparently, my speedo gearbox is mounted too high. If I drop it like yours, the speedo cable will be too short to make it to the speedometer. Guess I have the wrong (shorter) speedo cable.

glennpm 07-21-2020 07:16 AM

Re: Shifting A Columbia In A '40
 

1 Attachment(s)
I had to replace my Columbia speedo cable and gave length to this company with good results.

uncle buck 07-21-2020 08:37 AM

Re: Shifting A Columbia In A '40
 

Quote:

Originally Posted by v8coopman (Post 1911403)
wouldn't take much to solve that little problem! Dd


http://static.speedwaymotors.com/rs/.../7200392_l.jpg



ewww yuk! lol

G.M. 07-21-2020 10:56 AM

Re: Shifting A Columbia In A '40
 

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kube (Post 1911396)
Then you are using later controls. Authentic 40 controls do not operate like that.

I made my own shifting controls. I don't like the way
the original ones work. I use 12 volt Pollock fuel shift valve
that is made for trucks with dual fuel tanks. As I described
I shifts by pushing a button and pushing the clutch. The
12 valve works on 6 volts. Pollock calls this a 6 port shifting
valve. G.M.

Kube 07-21-2020 01:36 PM

Re: Shifting A Columbia In A '40
 

Quote:

Originally Posted by G.M. (Post 1911674)
I made my own shifting controls. I don't like the way
the original ones work. I use 12 volt Pollock fuel shift valve
that is made for trucks with dual fuel tanks. As I described
I shifts by pushing a button and pushing the clutch. The
12 valve works on 6 volts. Pollock calls this a 6 port shifting
valve. G.M.

Not certain what, if anything, this has to do with the original post.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.