The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Model A (1928-31) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Cabriolet Door Alignment (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=277688)

PrairieA31 03-07-2020 09:31 PM

Cabriolet Door Alignment

2 Attachment(s)
As a relative newbie, I started this question in an existing thread. Folks have suggested that this be a new thread on its own....so here goes.

I have 31 S/W Cabriolet (68C) with door problems. The doors take an excessive amount of force to get them to close all of the way and latch. I don't recall that the doors required this level of "attention" to get them properly closed and latched until the last few years.

Driver side door
the outer lower edge of the rear part of the door comes in contact with the body before the outer upper edge of the rear part of the door ...and that prevents the door latch from travelling toward the interior of the car far enough to properly engage the striker mounted on the door post. The upper rear part of the door sits about ½” proud of the body (see attached pic A).

Wear on the make dovetail is on the bottom surface. I removed it from the door just as a test and found that the effort required was reduced but still substantial.

Passenger side door
the outer lower edge of the rear part of the door sits proud of the body 7/16” when the door is latched (see attached pic B). This door is even more challenging to get latched.

Wear on the dovetail is on the bottom surface. I removed it from the door just as a test and found that the effort required was reduced to the within a quite reasonable range. I suspect no one will advise me to just leave it off.

SO…what adjustments would you suggest?

PrairieA31

PrairieA31 03-07-2020 10:05 PM

Re: Cabriolet Door Alignment

8 Attachment(s)
response to d.j. moordigian's post to previous thread

Okay,...a few things to get you started...