Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 08-18-2012, 01:34 PM   #1
mrmoose

Default 1941 4 cylinder pickup

A lot of folks here and over at the HAMB have been looking for information on the 4 cylinder available in Fords for a short time in the 40s. I've owned for the last 6+ years a 1941 Ford pickup with that 4 cylinder engine. While I'm no expert, mine is largely original and I've learned a little bit about them and was asked to share.
Here is Clem before he arrived in sunny Florida from Wisconsin...previously owned by 2 working farmers and one "gentleman" farmer...

1941Jan06 by mrmoose1, on Flickr

Polished up a bit by the new owner...an ungentlemanly farmer wannabe...

100_0354 by mrmoose1, on Flickr

And here's a shot of the little 4 banger. These were exactly the same as the 9N Ford tractor motor with the exception of the air cleaner, fuel pump (gravity feed on the tractor, mechanical on the pickup) and governor (none on the pickup) and were mated to the Ford 4 speed non-synchro transmission. I've seen the HP rated from anywhere from 23 to 40 HP...they are slow, very slow, and as a result did not sell well...it is thought only a few hundred were produced, but I have never been able to verify production numbers. Being rare doesn't make one especially desirable, as again, they are slow. That does not stop me from driving Clem every weekend, and occasionally on weekdays, in Florida traffic. All I do is force everyone around me to have a little more patience...and it has worked thus far. I have had him up to 60, but it took some time getting there. 4.55 rear end. Cruises comfortably at 50 though.

040708 025 by mrmoose1, on Flickr

I have rebuilt the front end and replaced the spring, replaced brakes, and the little truck really goes down the road nice. Clutch is nearly gone though, and Clem shifts very hard and sloppy, so will need to pull tranny in the near future.