Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-22-2011, 01:19 PM   #1
Mr 42
Senior Member
 
Mr 42's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 327
Default Bolts instead of Stud's?

Is it OK to use bolts instead of Studs on 59AB to mount Main bearing caps. I think the 8BA uses Bolts, and somehow the studs have been lost over the years, And here in Metricland its hard to get the nonmetric studs.

And i cant find them at Mac's
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_4620 (Medium).JPG (69.3 KB, 50 views)
Mr 42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 07:26 PM   #2
Mart
Senior Member
 
Mart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Solihull, England.
Posts: 2,928
Default Re: Bolts instead of Stud's?

Lars, I just salvaged the studs out of a 21 stud motor, if they are the same as what you need, they're yours for the cost of postage. Have the nuts too.
I can measure them if that would help.
Mart.
Mart is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 01-22-2011, 09:12 PM   #3
Karl Wolf
Senior Member
 
Karl Wolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mill Valley,Ca.
Posts: 1,071
Default Re: Bolts instead of Stud's?

I'm using bolts on main caps on a 59AB I'm in the middle of now, cannot see a reason not to... Karl
Karl Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 09:56 PM   #4
Brian
Senior Member
 
Brian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 943
Default Re: Bolts instead of Stud's?

Canadian C69A engines [pre 8BA series] used bolts on their mains. Brian
Brian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 11:16 PM   #5
59ab
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Huntsville,Alabama
Posts: 210
Default Re: Bolts instead of Stud's?

I once owned a nos 59 ab block that had bolts instead of studs.
59ab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 12:03 PM   #6
Ralph Moore
Senior Member
 
Ralph Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Pole, Alaska
Posts: 1,073
Default Re: Bolts instead of Stud's?

On that same note, I was wondering about using Studs instead of bolts for bolting down heads on an 8BA block? I'm using a set of Offenhauser alum heads, so I'm not even sure if the stock bolts/studs will work.
Ralph Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 12:39 PM   #7
Walt Dupont--Me.
Senior Member
 
Walt Dupont--Me.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Gardiner Me.
Posts: 3,163
Default Re: Bolts instead of Stud's?

I use grade 8 head bolts on about all my 59 engine. I bye them at a fastenal place, there kind of gold color. The only differance is they have 5/8 heads. I use grade 8 flat washer. I've never used bolts on main caps but cain't see why not. Walt PS, you can bye chrome acorn nut covers for the 5/8 head bolts.
Walt Dupont--Me. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 03:30 PM   #8
Ralph Moore
Senior Member
 
Ralph Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Pole, Alaska
Posts: 1,073
Default Re: Bolts instead of Stud's?

Walt,

On choosing the bolts, how much thread depth do you allow for in the block?

Thanks,

Ralph
Ralph Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 04:15 PM   #9
Ol' Ron
Senior Member
 
Ol' Ron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chester Vt
Posts: 3,812
Default Re: Bolts instead of Stud's?

The rule of thumb is a Diameter ans a half the main bolts are 1/2 -13 so that works out to about 9 threads min. Check for bottoming use a flat washer not a lock washer torque to 95/ ft/lbs. I don't use studs for heads either, use a grad 5 bolt with a min fof 7 threads and torque to 45 ft/lbs. I'm not saying this is the only way to do this, just the way I did it for years. Also re torque head bolts afte at least 3 heat cycles
Ol' Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 10:18 AM   #10
Ralph Moore
Senior Member
 
Ralph Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Pole, Alaska
Posts: 1,073
Default Re: Bolts instead of Stud's?

Thanks Ron,
Do I need to put any sealer on the threads? Especially the ones that go into the water jacket?
Ralph Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 11:05 AM   #11
Ronnie
Senior Member
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Canada Where it snows
Posts: 1,064
Default Re: Bolts instead of Stud's?

Use permatex aviation sealer on the bolts works very well and doesn't harden also works as a thread lube when torquing.

Ronnie
Ronnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 12:48 PM   #12
Ol' Ron
Senior Member
 
Ol' Ron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chester Vt
Posts: 3,812
Default Re: Bolts instead of Stud's?

Yup!
Ol' Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 01:52 PM   #13
Roger/Sacramento
Senior Member
 
Roger/Sacramento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 404
Default Re: Bolts instead of Stud's?

I bought ARP (pricey) studs and nuts for my aluminum heads at the recommendation of Red Hamilton (Reds Headers). Guess I overshot it.
__________________
KIM KARDASHIAN ISN'T FLAT, BUT MY MOTOR IS.....

http://s818.photobucket.com/home/roglehr/index
Roger/Sacramento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 02:48 PM   #14
296 V8
BANNED
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: nor~cal
Posts: 456
Default Re: Bolts instead of Stud's?

I put ARP bolts in the mains of my 8ba....dont know if there the same for 59's
296 V8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 03:17 PM   #15
OLD...BILL
Senior Member
 
OLD...BILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northern California,coast
Posts: 530
Default Re: Bolts instead of Stud's?

YES us bolts, H & H flathead, in southern Calif, made the main center strap for my rebuild with bolts, A good sorce for bolts, and all flathead stuff. AT>> FLATHEADS-FOREVER.COM ... OR 818-248-2347.... OLD....BILL
OLD...BILL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 07:41 PM   #16
Ralph Moore
Senior Member
 
Ralph Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Pole, Alaska
Posts: 1,073
Default Re: Bolts instead of Stud's?

Is this it? Just so happened I had a couple cans of this someone gave me.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg perm.jpg (55.8 KB, 21 views)
Ralph Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 08:30 PM   #17
Ronnie
Senior Member
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Canada Where it snows
Posts: 1,064
Default Re: Bolts instead of Stud's?

Yup that's the good stuff it works

Ronnie
Ronnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 11:26 PM   #18
Ol' Ron
Senior Member
 
Ol' Ron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chester Vt
Posts: 3,812
Default Re: Bolts instead of Stud's?

If you go to an industrial supply shop you can buy grad 8 bolts for a fraction of what AARP sells them for, I bought 16 3/8 NF and 6 1/2 nf nuts and 6 hardened steel washers for 6 dollars.
Ol' Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 PM.