Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 04-12-2011, 05:50 AM   #1
danliveshere

Default Which welding works best for panels?

Guys I can mig weld ok(self taught). I have oxy-acetylene, but never oxy welded only used for cutting. I bought a Tig last year, but still haven't even turned it on and still haven't organised a gas bottle.
OK my question is who finds what method of welding our panels works best? I believe oxy is nice to file and little distortion but can you guys say which you prefer and why? Also if you like Tig welding, what do you use for filler rods? I really should hand this over to a pro to get my body back together but I'm going to have to perservere and do it "with a little help from my friends"!!Most of my fenders, hood etc are nice and straight, but I have to replace floors, inner rear guards, bottom of cowl, rockers etc so I have alot of welding to do. Thanks for your assistance.
danliveshere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 06:24 AM   #2
36tbird

Default Re: Which welding works best for panels?

TIG'ing ain't like MIG'ing. You need to be running puddles with the Oxy-Acetylene while playing bass drum then you will be ready to TIG. I suggest that you get some big hunks of brass to hold behind your welds as a heat sink and use your MIG with small wire and gas to put your pieces together. Might look for that special wire that makes the softer bead for better grinding afterwards.
36tbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 07:56 AM   #3
19Fordy

Quote:
Originally Posted by 36tbird View Post