Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 07-21-2016, 08:54 AM   #1
Goose1

Default 49 overdrive ignition problem.

Hi all , new here and need some help. I have a 49 coupe flathead v8 overdrive. It's converted to twelve volt negative ground and pertronix electronic ignition.The other day I was driving home and stepped down on it and it died. I can't get it started again. No spark at all. My question is , could the kickdown switch or something else prevent it from getting any spark at all ? I know that it momentarily cuts the ignition for downshifts but is it possible to cut the ignition permanently and prevent it from starting ? I have disconnected the kickdown wire from the coil and still get nothing. I'm not very good at electrical stuff but these aren't much more complicated than a lawn mower and I cannot figure it out. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks.
Goose1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2016, 09:00 AM   #2
Planojc

Default Re: 49 overdrive ignition problem.

I would try another ignition. Pertronix ignitions have been known to die.
Planojc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2016, 09:04 AM   #3
Goose1

New module and coil.
Old 07-21-2016, 09:24 AM   #4
40cpe

The kickdown switch momentarily grounds the ignition. If you have disconnected it I would think you have isolated it from the ignition system. Do you have voltage to the coil? If so, I would call Pertronix tech. They are vey good at diagnosing their units. The correct coil resistance is critical on the pertronix ignition. If resistance is too low it will burn the module. If you replace the module, be certain you have the correct coil.
40cpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2016, 09:49 AM   #5
Alaska Jim