Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 05-02-2024, 12:43 AM   #1
ford38v8

Default Changing of the Guard. A new breed of car nuts.

It’s been a long time coming, but the changing of the guard is almost complete now. I remember back when I was a newbie, there were so many Ford experts everywhere you turned, you just couldn’t go too far off track in keeping your old Ford running, almost original, with just a couple of personal touches such as a Wolf Whistle or a Bermuda bell. Yep, I even had a Foxtail and a Tiger in the Tank.
The original Old Timers are all but gone now, and these young whippersnappers that are trying their best to keep up the hobby have got precious few resources on thier side. These newbies are trying to make new cars out of old cars, and it just isn’t the same hobby it used to be. They’re making mistakes (in our eyes), due mainly to the lack of guidance that used to be readily available.
We have to forgive them thier grievous errors, they don’t trust our old tech ways, they want new cars under old skins. Power steering, disc brakes, and OMG a 9” diff behind a flat motor? Oh, well, they’re the caretakers now, I sold my totally complete almost original ‘38 a couple weeks ago, and the new owner is talking about lowering the rear end. He’s not asking my council, and I can’t dictate my rules to him.
We can hope that these newbies don’t go too far with thier modern thinking, and that they heed the advice of those who have ben there dun that.
Old 05-02-2024, 12:49 AM   #2
TonyM

Default Re: Changing of the Guard. A new breed of car nuts.

Please sell to folks that you know.

I wish I could of bought your car.

A 350/350 combo probably next.

These guys will tell you how much they love the design of their favorite pre war Ford. Then they spend 20 minutes telling you about all the non Ford parts they had put on the car.

It is really too bad. Sorry.