Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 09-14-2014, 11:21 AM   #1
malpais

Default Help with painting - still practicing

Painted my Ford 250 hi-boy farm truck yesterday - practicing before painting the 39 PU.

I don't have a good clean place to do this, so it ended up pretty gritty.

Used PPG urethane single stage - wondering when I can sand and recoat?

I'm also wondering - some areas where I filled with very thin "bondo" (I know, but I ain't that good with metal work) sort of look different, like they absorbed more of the paint. Should I have used a sealer of some type?

Undercoat was a two part urethane primer - several coats in most places.

I hate body work, but this is why I'm practicing.

Thanks, Gordon

Thanks, Gordon
Old 09-14-2014, 11:41 AM   #2
Tinker

Default Re: Help with painting - still practicing

I'm not a pro and someone else here, that is, will give you a better answer.

Here is what I did.

Removed old paint and used ospho on bare metal for an etcher.
Sprayed a Epoxy sealer. (7 day window for respray)
Did bondo were needed, scuffed with a pad, and another couple coats of Epoxy sealer.
Then 3 coats of single stage.
I didn't do a lot of color sanding after the single stage.

Where you bought the paint should have a sheet on the paint you have and all its specs on when you can sand or respray.

I'm not a fan of doing body work either. Much respect for those that do it well.
Tinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2014, 12:05 PM   #3
wamnram

Go to www.autobodystore.com and research on their forum for both metal repair and painting. A wealth of info. Very helpful.
Old 09-14-2014, 12:09 PM   #4
felix37

If you used PPG's DCC single stage, you can sand and re coat in 6 hours.
felix37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2014, 12:11 PM   #5
19Fordy