Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 12-09-2016, 04:22 PM   #1
ply

Question 6 volt poss. ground

i'm replacing a 6 volt poss ground generator with a one wire 6 volt poss ground altanator i am new at this and don't understand can anyone explain this to me i have battery wire going to single post on the alt. but there must be more to it my gage on dash says discharge no voltage regulator is needed for this 1953 ford custom 239 flathead THANKS
ply is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2016, 04:33 PM   #2
adileo

Default Re: 6 volt poss. ground

Sounds like you have it on the wrong terminal. I would also run it to the selinoid instead of the battery and add a ground wire as well. That's how I hooked up mine and it works well.
adileo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2016, 04:43 PM   #3
Bob C

Where is the other end of the wire hooked to the alternator coming from?

Bob
Bob C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2016, 04:57 PM   #4
flatheadmurre

You must hook the alternator to the bat cable on the regulator if you hook it directly to the battery pole it will always show discharge.
Has to go through the dash wiring to make the meter work.
flatheadmurre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2016, 06:32 PM   #5
JSeery
Member Emeritus

I agree, connect the alternator wire to the BAT terminal on the VR if you want the rest of the car circuits to work as original. You can also connect it straight to the starter solenoid, but the ammeter won't work correctly.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2016, 06:44 PM   #6
adileo

Seeking to learn. Why does the volt meter work off the soleniod. Yet the amp gauge needs battery wire from VM?
Old 12-09-2016, 06:48 PM   #7
flatheadmurre

Quote:
Originally Posted by adileo View Post
Seeking to learn. Why does the volt meter work off the soleniod. Yet the amp gauge needs battery wire from VM?