Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 07-02-2015, 06:16 PM   #1
Fred A

Default Replacing '40 Frame?

The body on my '40 five window coupe is exceptional but the frame has been cut badly at the passenger side X for drag car headers plus the braces beside the Xmember were hogged out for larger mufflers. I want to swap out the frame for a nice one that has no measurable problems or ugly cuts. The candidate frame (car) has its own title, so not such a problem. How tough is it to change to this other chassis. I've pulled Model A bodies and have the means but V8 cars may be more complicated? Thanks:
Fred A
Fred A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 06:57 PM   #2
Scott H in Wheaton

Default Re: Replacing '40 Frame?

I haven't changed the body on a model A but I am doing a full frame off build on my 36 pickup. Its the same frame as your 40. This is my first time doing something this old, I've done dozens of 60's Mustangs.
I haven't run into anything particularly challenging and its almost all back together. Its just nuts and bolts, you can do it.
Scott H in Wheaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 07:09 PM   #3
Kube

I agree with Scott. Perhaps only a bit more challenging than a Model A but there should be little problem with doing this swap.
I would be certain you have a '39 or '40 frame. Lots of folks think '36 - '40 are the same but they are not. I would also measure the frame and make certain it is not bent nor twisted. A visual inspection is not good enough...
Old 07-02-2015, 07:18 PM   #4
oldredford

Only 39 and 40 frames are the same. I am doing a 40 5 window coupe and it was on a 37 or 38 frame. There is some differences. I finally located a good 40 frame it came from my parts car a 40 4 dr sedan.
oldredford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 07:30 PM   #5
Kube

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldredford View Post