Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 03-31-2011, 10:40 PM   #1
crotex

Default new carb, Getting really cold on intake. Need advice

I have been having troubles with the Zenith carb on my 31 Model A and I ended up getting a Tillotson carb from a friend today. I got it on and now I have a crazy whistle noise coming from somewhere I can't fine and also the carb is getting so cold when running it has condensation dripping off of it as well as the intake. Please forgive me if this is dumb stuff to ask but I am new to this and I would like to get some advice on how to fix this problem. Another thing is that the motor will not stay running unless it is fully choked.
crotex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 10:57 PM   #2
JC60B

Default Re: new carb, Getting really cold on intake. Need advice

Sounds like you have a vacume leak. Maybe base gasket
JC60B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 02:18 AM   #3
1931 flamingo

Vacuum leak.
Paul in CT
1931 flamingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 02:57 AM   #4
Mike V. Florida

Send a message via AIM to Mike V. Florida

Quote:
Originally Posted by crotex View Post
... I have a crazy whistle noise coming from somewhere I can't fine ...
Another thing is that the motor will not stay running unless it is fully choked.
Yep, sounds like a vacuum leak to me.
Old 04-01-2011, 02:58 AM   #5
crotex

what are all of the places I should check out? I chaged the base gasket with a new one and snugged the two bolts down pretty tight.
crotex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 03:25 AM   #6
Christoph

spray oil (fluid) to the gakets while engine is running
once sealing the leak, idle should change....
greetings christoph
Christoph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 05:01 AM   #7
Pepsi Mechanic