Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 02-06-2014, 03:18 AM   #1
flipp

Default Antifreeze Leak Help!

I'm having an issue with my Model A and who else better to ask than Fordbarn fellas. :-)
I'm a newbie when it comes to Model A's and their engine so forgive if I sound ignorant. Today I noticed a small antifreeze leak when I fired up my Model A. The leak is coming from the belt shaft that holds the radiator fan.. not sure what it is called but I do have a picture attached that will show you exactly where the leak is coming from. Can you please help me out in figuring out the problem and how to go about it in fixing it? I would really appreciate it so much.

Thanks guys!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20140205_165828.jpg (80.3 KB, 229 views)
flipp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 04:10 AM   #2
colin1928

Default Re: Antifreeze Leak Help!

If it is a original water pump adjust the packing nut the large brass 1 just forward of your leak also grease the pump with water pump grease
colin1928 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 04:37 AM   #3
flipp

Thanks for the quick reply, Colin1928!

I told you I was a newbie.. I didn't even know that was the water pump. Ok, I'm learning now. So, you are saying to adjust the packing nut, but as in how? Adjust it by turning either way until it stops leaking?

BTW: Yes, It is all original.

Thanks for your help, my friend! :-)
Old 02-06-2014, 05:26 AM   #4
colin1928

Hi Get the correct grease and grease it 1st then run the engine a few minutes sometimes thats all that need
if it still leaks the adjuster is std right hand thread try 1/4 to 1/2 turn in
careful not to over tighten that will burn the wadding
colin1928 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 07:58 AM   #5
Bill Goddard