Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-12-2012, 01:34 PM   #1
ericr
Senior Member
 
ericr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 582
Default Model "A" voltage regulator

a company on the Internet, and at least one parts dealer, advertises a cut-out that looks like an original but functions as a tue voltage regulator. Does anyone know anything about these?
ericr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 02:39 PM   #2
SDJason
Senior Member
 
SDJason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 263
Default Re: Model "A" voltage regulator

I'm a relative newbie (bought my Town Sedan just over six months ago), but one of the changes I did was to get one of these, after noticing that my battery was being overcharged during regular driving (generator is set to 10 amps; the overcharging symptom was acid leaking out all over the place). For awhile my workaround was to drive with the headlights on for the first half of any trip I was on (resulting in a 10 amp discharge), then turn the headlights off when I judged I was around halfway through the trip.

No more overcharging, and the stock look remains - couldn't be happier with it. Just have to remember to notify anyone working on the car that you have it installed, in case they feel like polarizing your generator.
SDJason is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 05-12-2012, 02:54 PM   #3
Mike V. Florida
Senior Member
 
Mike V. Florida's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 7,776
Send a message via AIM to Mike V. Florida
Default Re: Model "A" voltage regulator

There are actually three types for sale.

Fun Products makes the regulator that looks like the cut out.
Tom Wesenberg makes one that mounts on the internal end cap
James Peterson has one that replaces the generator band
__________________
What's right about America is that although we have a mess of problems, we have great capacity - intellect and resources - to do some thing about them. - Henry Ford II
Mike V. Florida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 03:32 PM   #4
Purdy Swoft
Senior Member
 
Purdy Swoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 4,994
Default Re: Model "A" voltage regulator

Actually its Fun projects!!! Not fun products, an easy mistake but fun products is a different company that sells a completely different product.

I use the Fun Projects can style regulator and love it. It installs just like the cutout but gives voltage regulation similar to modern cars. They have them in 6,8 and 12 volt versions.
Purdy Swoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 08:20 PM   #5
marc hildebrant
Senior Member
 
marc hildebrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Eagan, Minnesota
Posts: 777
Default Re: Model "A" voltage regulator

Group,

What voltage does the regulator for a 6 volt battery use ?

Marc
marc hildebrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 08:38 PM   #6
Purdy Swoft
Senior Member
 
Purdy Swoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 4,994
Default Re: Model "A" voltage regulator

Quote:
Originally Posted by marc hildebrant View Post
Group,

What voltage does the regulator for a 6 volt battery use ?

Marc

The 6 volt regulator would be used with a six volt battery. The 6 volt regulator is for a 15 amp maximum charge. You need to remove the generator band and adjust the third brush for a 15 amp max . Then you can remove the cutout and install the regulator in its place. Its just as simple to install as the cutout.
Purdy Swoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 07:52 AM   #7
lindy williams
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 210
Default Re: Model "A" voltage regulator

I have used two of those regulators that fit inside the cutout can for several years without any trouble.
lindy williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 08:41 PM   #8
marc hildebrant
Senior Member
 
marc hildebrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Eagan, Minnesota
Posts: 777
Default Re: Model "A" voltage regulator

Let me try again.

To charge a 6 volt battery, what voltage is the "6 volt" regulator set to ?

Marc
marc hildebrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 08:51 PM   #9
Tom Wesenberg
Senior Member
 
Tom Wesenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 14,806
Default Re: Model "A" voltage regulator

Quote:
Originally Posted by marc hildebrant View Post
Let me try again.

To charge a 6 volt battery, what voltage is the "6 volt" regulator set to ?

Marc
Mine will put out about 7.9 volts when not connected to a battery. When the EVR is connected to a battery, the battery will load the charging circuit and lower the voltage to a few tenths over normal battery voltage.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 09:45 PM   #10
jmeckel
Senior Member
 
jmeckel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Luck WI
Posts: 437
Default Re: Model "A" voltage regulator

Quote:
Originally Posted by marc hildebrant View Post
Let me try again.

To charge a 6 volt battery, what voltage is the "6 volt" regulator set to ?

Marc
The is not a simple answer to your question

Fully charged the voltage will be at about 2.25 volts per cell, a six volt battery has 3 cells so the voltage will be about 6.75 volts. To charge a battery the voltage will need to be over about 7 volts. Please note voltage is not what " charges " a battery current is what does the " charge ". Here is a url that may help you understand battery charging. http://batteryuniversity.com/learn/
__________________
Jon

"If you choose to not decide, you still have made a choice!" RUSH

Don't tell me what you know..... Tell me what you have done.
jmeckel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 10:03 PM   #11
eagle
Senior Member
 
eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Eagle Bend, MN
Posts: 505
Default Re: Model "A" voltage regulator

I have the "regulator in a cutout can" from Mac's and it works flawlessly. I set my 3rd brush current to 16 amps, using a digital ammeter. I can run headlights for a couple hour drive and never have had a low battery issue. My typical charge current with a fully charged battery tapers off to around an amp or so. (thats reading from my old analog gage in the car, not too accurate...) When I am running headlights on low beam (21/50 bulbs) I am about on zero, with lights on high beam, just under zero a bit. I should hook up my digital ammeter and check to see what the readings really are but I've never had a problem so haven't done it yet.
eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 AM.