Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-10-2012, 06:21 PM   #1
Logan
Senior Member
 
Logan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 908
Default disk brakes on a model a?

A friend and I have been talking and he wants to do a disc brake conversion for his A. It's not that mechanicals dont work well enough, it just seems like it would be more cost effective in the long run. (especially when you own multiple cars) I havent priced a complete brake overhaul, but if you were to replace everything, including putting cast iron drums on i would doubt you could run well over $1000 for brake parts... Heard someone say they put $4000 into their brakes But i have no idea what they had done to ring up that much of a bill. But my question is, has anyone on here done it? If so how, and could you post pictures. I probably will not convert over, at least not anytime soon. But a friend who does not get on this forum would probably like to see how some have done it. He talked with speedway motors, and they said the only problem they have had is being able to keep the stock wheels and have disc brakes. I guess there just isn't enough room?
__________________
Cowtown A's
Logan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 06:28 PM   #2
dmaxweb
Senior Member
 
dmaxweb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 262
Default Re: disk brakes on a model a?

It's your car but why in the world would you want to do that?
dmaxweb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 05-10-2012, 06:40 PM   #3
jan bogert
Senior Member
 
jan bogert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: whitehall pa.
Posts: 439
Default Re: disk brakes on a model a?

my mechanical brakes needed almost everything, so i put f-1 hyd. on the front and 46/48 passenger on the rear. cheaper , but alot of work, with the master cyl. and brackets. had to move the battery into the rumble. i never had good mechanical, but i love the hyd.
jan bogert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 06:54 PM   #4
CarlG
Senior Member
 
CarlG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 4,054
Default Re: disk brakes on a model a?

They make disk brakes for the Model T, why not for the A?

(Available at Snyders, PN T-2562)

Last edited by CarlG; 05-11-2012 at 12:05 PM. Reason: Added info for the "T" brakes
CarlG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 07:00 PM   #5
Logan
Senior Member
 
Logan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 908
Default Re: disk brakes on a model a?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlG View Post
They make disk brakes for the Model T, why not for the A?
I know Ben who makes the disk brakes for a T, but they are only for the rear wheels.
__________________
Cowtown A's
Logan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 07:24 PM   #6
ronn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,093
Default Re: disk brakes on a model a?

I have seen discs on early brass cars- used for touring. They run motorcycle brake calipers up on each wheel. I personally think it ruins the look of the car, but may not be as noticeable on an A.
ronn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 07:35 PM   #7
Chris in WNC
Senior Member
 
Chris in WNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Leicester, NC
Posts: 972
Default Re: disk brakes on a model a?

you might be in just the right place for this project.
at the 1992 Dallas MAFCA meet there was a 30/31 Roadster Pickup
with 4-wheel discs behind regular 19" wheels, a very neat-looking setup.
it was the truck they used for the meet logo, with a big pepper in the bed painted like a Texas flag.
someone in the Dallas MAFC should remember more details of this.
I saved a hand-out which listed the preferred junkyard components to look for, but pitched it after deciding I would never get that elusive "round tuit".
__________________
'35 Chevrolet Standard 2-dr, unrestored
Chris in WNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 07:59 PM   #8
Fordors
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Orland Park,IL
Posts: 641
Default Re: disk brakes on a model a?

Refer to this prior thread- http://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showth...192#post148192
Fordors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 08:33 PM   #9
Charlie Stephens
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,761
Default Re: disk brakes on a model a?

Logan's friend probably wants disc brakes because he has nothing better to do with his time than clean brake dust off of wire wheels.

Charlie Stephens
Charlie Stephens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 08:38 PM   #10
modelAtony
Senior Member
 
modelAtony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: lafayette,la
Posts: 236
Default Re: disk brakes on a model a?

Logan. Ron Kelley, in Royse city. Yes ! the engine builder there in Dallas area, put disc brakes on his daughter's 1928 tudor . I think it was the car she went thru high school with.I know they still had the car in 2008. have fun modelAtony lafayette,la
modelAtony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 08:52 PM   #11
31apickup
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Livonia, MI
Posts: 41
Default Re: disk brakes on a model a?

The simplest way to put dics brakes on a Model A is to change over to 37-48 spindles, which many disc brake kits are made for. To keep a more vintage look, adding 40-48 hydraulic brakes or F-1 brakes would be a much better and easier option. In this conversion you can retain the Model A spindle and it will provide more than enough braking.
31apickup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 09:04 PM   #12
Pete
Senior Member
 
Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wa.
Posts: 1,916
Default Re: disk brakes on a model a?

I have 4 wheel discs on my 30 2 door.
I just bought a Wilwood kit from Speedway and bolted them on including the parking brake kit. I was running 35 wire wheels at the time but have changed to alloy since then.
Brake dust???? No dust with the right pads.
Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 09:59 PM   #13
mrtexas
Senior Member
 
mrtexas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 2,045
Default Re: disk brakes on a model a?

I just took the front disc brakes off of my roadster pickup to put on my 36 woodie. I have 42 squareback spindles, brackets from ECI, Ford rotors and Chevy calipers. This setup requires 40 wheels. I also had to buy a steering arm and new tie rod. This setup is no more expensive than new bendix style brakes, less than $500. For my 36 woodie I just bought new MT rear drums and have MT bendix rear brakes. It'll stop on a dime. F-1 brakes are bendix but you would still new 40 wheels.
mrtexas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 12:33 AM   #14
columbiA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: B.C. Canada
Posts: 1,745
Default Re: disk brakes on a model a?

Disc brakes are obviously very good, but with the small tread contact area with the road,you would loose traction on a quick stop.
columbiA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 03:13 AM   #15
dumb person
Senior Member
 
dumb person's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: South pacific island
Posts: 973
Default Re: disk brakes on a model a?

If you figure/find mechanical disk brakes that bolt on with no mod's let me know.
dumb person is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 03:27 AM   #16
Mike V. Florida
Senior Member
 
Mike V. Florida's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 7,476
Send a message via AIM to Mike V. Florida
Default Re: disk brakes on a model a?

A few years ago there was a guy "ablebob"
http://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/s...d.php?t=375763

"75 montecarlo rotors 80 montecarlo calipers - bearing spacer drawing is in photo on my profile. Modified weld on type caliper bracket bolts on. Wheel bearing set 2 & set 13 ( be sure to change the cups in the rotors ). Timken seal 2942. If you have more questions - PM me. Bob"

Here is another thread;

http://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/s...d.php?t=591790
__________________
What's right about America is that although we have a mess of problems, we have great capacity - intellect and resources - to do some thing about them. - Henry Ford II

Last edited by Mike V. Florida; 05-11-2012 at 03:40 AM.
Mike V. Florida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 11:27 AM   #17
Chris in WNC
Senior Member
 
Chris in WNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Leicester, NC
Posts: 972
Default Re: disk brakes on a model a?

hydraulic brakes are a pain in the neck compared to mechanicals.

if I were spending the cash, time and trouble to convert; I'd prefer to go to discs. the car is gonna look modified anyhow so go for the superior performance.....

J.M.H.O.
__________________
'35 Chevrolet Standard 2-dr, unrestored
Chris in WNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 12:33 PM   #18
asapguy
Senior Member
 
asapguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Snohomish Wa.
Posts: 217
Default Re: disk brakes on a model a?

I saw disk brakes on a Model A tudor for sale a couple yrs. ago. They looked terrible & out of place. Couldn't believe someone would do that. I believe they make fake Buick finned aluminum drums to put on street rods just to hide the disk brakes & give the car a better look.
asapguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 06:30 PM   #19
Flathead
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern Maine
Posts: 557
Default Re: disk brakes on a model a?

My opinion would be that it is just wrong. So wrong. However, your car your choice.
Flathead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 PM.